European Video games: Olympic champions Charlotte Worthington & Joe Choong in GB squad

Charlotte Worthington completes a 360 backflip at the Tokyo Olympics
Charlotte Worthington received gold on the Tokyo Olympics after changing into the primary girl to land a 360-degree backflip in competitors

Olympic champions Charlotte Worthington and Joe Choong are amongst 178 athletes chosen to symbolize Crew GB on the 2023 European Video games.

The multi-discipline sports activities occasion will happen in Krakow, Poland, from 21 June to 2 July.

Worthington claimed BMX freestyle gold in Tokyo, whereas Choong received the lads’s fashionable pentathlon.

Crew GB will compete throughout 18 Olympic disciplines, with qualification for the 2024 Paris Video games on the road in lots of.

Qualification for the Paris Olympics can be obtainable for these competing in archery, creative swimming, boxing, breaking, canoe slalom, diving, fashionable pentathlon, rugby sevens, capturing and desk tennis.

In the meantime, rating factors towards locations on the 2024 Video games can be awarded to profitable athletes in badminton, BMX freestyle, fencing, mountain bike, taekwondo and triathlon.

Karam Singh (often called B-Boy Child Karam) and Sunni Brummitt (B-Boy Sunni) will make historical past as the primary Britons to participate in breaking at a senior Video games. The game is making its Olympic debut in Paris.

And Ranujo Tomblin would be the first male athlete to symbolize Crew GB in creative swimming.

Different former Olympic gold medallists picked for the British workforce embrace Jade Jones, who received taekwondo titles on the 2012 and 2016 Video games, and slalom canoeist Joe Clarke, who received in Rio 2016.

In complete, 32 athletes who competed for Crew GB in Tokyo have made the squad.

The third version of the European Video games, which have beforehand been held in Baku (2015) and Minsk (2019), will see round 7,000 athletes from 48 European nations compete throughout a 12-day sporting programme.

The opening ceremony will happen on Wednesday, 21 June, at Krakow’s Henryk Reyman Municipal Stadium.

Watch on iPlayer bannerWatch on iPlayer footer