New IWBF Government Council elected for 2023-2026 Time period – IWBF

On Monday 19 June 2023 through the IWBF World Congress, which had been postponed to be held alongside the 2022 World Championships, a brand new IWBF Government Council was elected for the 2023-2026 time period.

The Congress, which was happening in Dubai, UAE, noticed Germany’s Ulf Mehrens elected by acclamation as President of the Worldwide Wheelchair Basketball Federation for a 3rd time period.

Additionally re-elected to the Government Council by acclamation had been Craig Moorgas of South Africa as Treasurer, Charlie Bethel of Nice Britain as Chair of Competitors, Regina Costa of Portugal as Chair of Classification, and Cristian Roja of Italy as Chair of Technical.

Walter Pfaller of Austria was elected with the bulk as Vice-President, and Gabriel Zangenfeind of Switzerland was voted in as Chair of the Fee for Authorized Issues and Eligibility (CLME) stepping up from being a member of the fee.

Following a number of rounds of voting, Matthew Wells of Australia and Toufic Allouche of Lebanon had been each re-elected to the Member at Massive roles.

Moreover, following the approval by the members of amendments to the Statutes, the brand new Government Council additionally welcomed two extra voting members – the inclusion of FIBA Secretary Common, Andreas Zagklis onto the board, and the Chair of the newly established IWBF Gamers’ Fee, Erica Gavel.

These Government Council members will likely be joined by the Presidents of IWBF’s 4 Zones: Steve Bach (IWBF Americas), Saad Alazmaa (IWBF Asia Oceania), Charles Saunders (IWBF Africa), and newly elected Vice-President Walter Pfaller (IWBF Europe).

IWBF President, Ulf Mehrens, stated:

“I’m honoured to be re-elected for my third time period as President of IWBF. I’m assured IWBF is properly positioned for the longer term when it comes to content material and ambitions. The formation of the brand new IWBF Government Council particularly with the dear additions of the FIBA Secretary Common and the Chair or the Gamers’ Fee Chair will proceed to drive the game ahead.

“I would really like additionally like to precise my because of each Steve Bach and Francisca Ravestein, who each step down from their positions, for his or her time and efforts spent on the board.”

The Congress occurred after two mornings of the IWBF Discussion board the place numerous subjects had been introduced and mentioned together with the IWBF World Technique, 3×3, establishing a Gamers’ voice all through the governance of the game, and Classification.

The newly shaped Government Council met for the primary time following the Congress on Monday 19 June, and through the assembly, the Council agreed to reappoint Norbert Kucera as IWBF Secretary Common.

IWBF Government Council 2023 – 2026

President Ulf Mehrens (GER)
Vice-President Walter Pfaller (AUT)
Treasurer Craig Moorgas (RSA)
Chair of the Gamers’ Fee Erica Gavel (CAN)
Chair of Technical Fee Cristian Roja (ITA)
Chair of Classification Fee Regina Costa (POR)
Chair of Competitions Fee Charlie Bethel (GBR)
Chair of CLME Gabriel Zangenfeind (SUI)
Member at Massive Matthew Wells (AUS)
Member at Massive Toufic Allouche (LBN)
FIBA Secretary Common Andreas Zagklis (GRE)


Zonal Presidents*

IWBF Americas Steve Bach (CAN)
IWBF Africa Charles Saunders (RSA)
IWBF Asia Oceania Saad Alazmaa (KUW)
IWBF Europe Walter Pfaller (AUT) (additionally as IWBF Vice-President.)

*The Zonal Presidents will likely be up for election on the Zonal Congresses on the respective Zonal Championships in 2023/2024

Photograph Credit score: Steffie Wunderl/SA Photographs