Who deserves to win the Sir Matt Busby 2022/23 Participant of the 12 months award at Man Utd?

Adam Marshall

There’s a purpose why Marcus Rashford might be a robust favorite to win the award for the primary time: the livewire ahead has loved absolutely his best-ever season since breaking into the United crew.

From the second he scored the eventual winner in opposition to arch-rivals Liverpool in August, he has terrorised defences along with his tempo and direct strategy, whether or not enjoying on the left or down the center.

It could be becoming if he can break the 30-goal barrier (he’s one quick at current) and he has contributed a lot extra, aiding his colleagues and customarily turning into the principle risk in Erik ten Hag’s facet, trying sharp and targeted.

We’ve grown accustomed to seeing his iconic purpose celebration and, at key instances within the marketing campaign, Rashford has come up clutch, comparable to within the Nou Camp in opposition to Barcelona, the Carabao Cup ultimate at Wembley and notching the sweetest of derby winners in opposition to Manchester Metropolis. He hit an actual purple patch at Outdated Trafford, scoring in 9 consecutive residence video games to equal Dennis Viollet’s report, set in 1959.

Marcus is bidding to grow to be the primary homegrown recipient of the award since 1997/98, when Ryan Giggs collected the Sir Matt Busby trophy, and solely the fourth since its inception with Mark Hughes and David Beckham additionally among the many victors. It could take a courageous individual to wager in opposition to it taking place.


2021/22: Cristiano Ronaldo
2020/21: Bruno Fernandes
2019/20: Bruno Fernandes
2018/19: Luke Shaw
2017/18: David De Gea

Vote for the 2022/23 award right here now and look out for the end result on Monday 29 Might.